Outsourcing and Call Center Blog

6 October, 2007

Short-Timer’s Syndrome

Filed under: BPO,Call Center,India,Marketing,off shoring,Outsourcing,personal — shamrin @ 12:51

Well, If you’ve been following along here you know we signed up for a year’s stint here in Incredible India and the end of that time is approaching fast. When I was at AT&T many years ago we had a name for that thing that happens when a person has taken another job and is in the final days or weeks of the old one – “Short-timers Syndrome”. Anyone who has ever changed jobs knows what I’m talking about. The symptoms are a desire to take long lunches, have casual friendly conversations with your colleagues, call friends on the phone and generally go about your workday in a relaxed sort of way. It’s like a big long exhale. Alas, like a drunk on a runaway roller-coaster I am not destined to cruise gently into this goodnight.

The Website
For one thing, the website I’ve been working on, which is officially about a week behind schedule, is probably more like 3-4 weeks late (please don’t mention this to by boss). Since my project manager for it has vanished I’ll need to really bear down on this task if it’s going to get finished, and I haven’t even had a single comment from my management on the content so getting approvals on my radically new marketing approach should be an absolute joy (not).

Cold-Calling
I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it here but I’ve been managing an expansion of our call centre’s footprint into the UK market. Suddenly last week that turned from a management and oversight task to a hands-on do-it-yourself cold-calling task (for reasons hinted at in my last entry). Now, the last time I did cold-calling was during the Carter administration, an era during which dinosaurs roamed the earth and we carried something called a “Bell Boy” pager because mobile phones had not been invented. Fortunately I’ve got a smart, energetic young protégé working for me to whom I am laying-off most of the heavy-lifting on this task. But still, between the 3 of us in Marketing (now Marketing & Sales) we’re committed to come up with a slew of qualified leads and conversions in the next eight weeks. If you smell something burning it’s probably the phone lines between India and London.

OK, well I don’t usually write about such personal things here in my business blog but I realised this morning that there were no real rules here so I could do as I wished. If you are a regular reader here, please stay tuned. I’ll continue to write about BPO and Call Centre issues for at least the rest of the year or so and it could actually get pretty exciting around here.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

