Outsourcing and Call Center Blog

12 June, 2007

About Trust

Filed under: BPO,Call Center,ethics,Outsourcing,personal,Trust — shamrin @ 18:30

I’ve written before about the importance of building trust with our customers and prospects and it’s almost impossible to talk about it too much. Trust is not just the glue that binds business relationships together, it is the very fabric of our relationships, business and personal. I was riding past the IGI Airport here in Delhi today and thinking about what the great American football coach Vince Lombardi reportedly said about winning, “Winning isn’t everything, it’s the only thing“. Well I think Vince was wrong about that, I believe how you play the game matters, but I will borrow his method of juxtaposition anyway and say, “Trust isn’t everything, it’s the only thing.”

The reason I was thinking about this topic was an article in today’s Hindustan Times called “The Torment of Deceit” by Aash Aurora in a column called Inner Voice. I can’t find a link to it on their website but I thought is was so poigniant I am  reproducing it here.

The Torment of Deceipt
by Aash Aurora
innervoice (at) hindustantimes (dot) com

ONE SUNDAY I  went as usual to my club and was about to leave when a bad squall forced me to wait. I hung around having coffee in the lounge with some others. Avery nice, graceful gentleman came and sat with us and asked what we all did and so on. Suddenly, he asked, “Have you ever been deceived by anyone?”

I could say “yes” from my own experience and other said so too. He asked, “So you ust have cursed them?” and all agreed. Actually, ‘curse’ was too strong a word. I had bad feelings but I never did curse.

“And then you must have stopped trusting people?” he said. And that is exactly what had happened with us.

The old gentleman must have been at least 80, looking very much at peace. He said, “No one can hear nor can the tongue tell the tortures of the inward hell that deceiver goes through, as what goes around must come around. But never ever stop trusting people. You may be deceived if you trust too much, but you will live in torment if you don’t trust others.”

We really felt bad for him, he seemed [as if he] must have gone through great misery. So we were appalled when he said that he was not th one who was deceived bbut the deceiver, who had cheated his own brother for wealth.

And since then life had never been [the] same for him, he was living because he had to. As he got up to leave, he said, “Share it with people who really ean something to you and try to forgive those who have hurt you.”

I am glad I decided to share this incident with all of you for two reasons; that whay I’m punching this.

One, I am honouring what he said at the end, for I admire his strength to confess. Two, if you have had a bitter or disappointing experience with someone, I hope you can forgive them and leave it behind, as I did after meeting the old gentleman.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

